[I was asked by the very brilliant Kate Craddock if I would write a 100-word manifesto on the future of theatre for the ‘Training Grounds’ section of the journal Theatre, Dance and Performance Training. This is what I wrote.]

A MANIFESTO ON THE FUTURE OF THEATRE

I have been watching youtube clips of Russian teenagers climbing things again
They climb cranes and half-completed buildings
They climb until there is nowhere else left to climb to
And then they sit at an edge
Legs dangling
Like they are waiting for a lift home from somewhere
They hi-five
And say things I don’t understanding
And I feel their precariousness
And their audacity
Like a firework dropped in my gut
And maybe it’s a protest or an escape or whatever
But I wish what I did could make people feel half as scared as I am
Watching them.

