The market is narrow and crowded
And we are like drain water
We are like mains electricity
We are a plurality of intentions
navigating through hot bodies that move
like a broken Rubik’s cube
I would like you to buy me a laser pen
And a jade bracelet
And replica everything
I would like you to buy me a diamante iphone case
and a reggae album
I would like you to buy me Manchester United
Real Madrid
A keyring in the shape of a gun
A hand-made leatherbound writing book
A wind-up toy
A miniature helicopter
I would like you to buy me trainers
I would like you to buy me a t-shirt with a picture of Psy on it
I would like you to buy me a t-shirt with John Lennon on it
I would like you to buy me a t-shirt with sunset on it
And a patterned scarf
And some Calvin Klein underwear
And a great big fucking knife.
We have been walking through the market
for several years now
the rows of temporary stalls occasionally punctuated by
Popular tourist attractions
and airports we can’t pronounce the names of.
Our mouths are dry and our stomachs ache
And our flip flops have worn right through
to the warm, sticky concrete
But it’s ok
because we’re in the market
and we can buy some more flip flops.

